Top 5 IPL records that are almost impossible to break

IPL has given the cricket lovers everything an entertainment provides, right from Gayle’s storm to MS Dhoni’s finishing style.

Cricket fans eagerly wait for this league every year so that they could cheer for their favorite players and support a team whose die-hard fan they are. But most of all, the unbreakable IPL records each possess is what their fans boast about.

Here are the Top 5 IPL records that will be impossible to break:

5.) Sohail Tanvir

Record: Best Bowling figures: 6/14

Sohail Tanvir

Rajasthan Royals bowler known for his unique delivery action made a match-winning performance of 6/14 against Chennai Super Kings in IPL 2009. Since the tenure of IPL to till date, no one has surpassed Tanvir’s bowling figures.

The second best bowling figures of IPL are from the veteran Anil Kumble (3.1 overs, 5 runs, and 5 wickets) in 2009.

He was so close to breaking the record until time ran out.

4.) Royal Challengers Bangalore

Record: Highest team total in an IPL match, 263/5 against Pune Warriors in 2013

Royal Challengers Bangalore

It was a cloudy atmosphere at the Chinnaswamy stadium, and RCB’s motive was to be on cloud 9. But they went beyond cloud 9 as they went past Chennai Super King’s 246 and finished their innings for 263/5.

All credits to Gayle storm who made sure that he provides his fans wholesome entertainment, he partnered Virat Kohli, Dilshan, De Villiers to reach the highest team score of 263, which is 3 runs ahead of what is now the highest score in T20 International (260/6 by Sri Lanka against Kenya).

3.) Chris Gayle

Record: Highest individual score in an IPL match: 175(66) against Pune warriors; Fastest Century off 30 balls in IPL T20

Chris Gayle

In the same match where the highest team score of 263 was scored, other records of the highest individual score and fastest hundred were created and it is none other than our Gayle Storm.

In Chinnaswamy Stadium, with clouds coming together signaling the possible thunderstorm, Gayle has posed the challenge to the clouds on whether their thunderstorm wins or his storm. And at last, it was Gayle who stormed the ball throughout every corner of the stadium, giving every spectator a chance to catch the ball from his six.

Gayle took just 30 balls to complete his TON, which is not only a record in IPL T20 but also in every format of the game. It was a landmark moment for Chris Gayle once he overtook Brendon McCullum’s 158 (who scored in inaugural IPL) and he ended the innings with an unbeaten 175.

2.) Kolkata Knight Riders

Record: Most consecutive wins in the tournament (10)

Kolkata Knight Riders

Kolkata Knight Riders have made a record in a such a way that a team with a big gun will find it challenging to break, 10 matches without a defeat. They have achieved this feat during IPL 2014 to IPL 2015.

These consecutive wins have also earned them an IPL trophy in 2014. Kings XI Punjab stands second with 8 consecutive wins.

1.) Amit Mishra

Record: 3 hat-tricks in IPL T20

Amit Mishra

Amit Mishra is the only bowler to pick up a hat-trick thrice in Indian Premium League. Its a dream come true for any bowler to pick up a hat-trick in the T20 format and during IPL there is a run-feast throughout the tournament so this achievement is outstanding.

Amit Mishra’s leg spin is a boost for his team whenever he is on the field.

LOVED it? LIKE it!

This article was first published on
For latest cricket news and updates, visit or follow us on Google News.

Share it with a Cricket fan!

Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or get in touch with him on twitter.