Brendon McCullum Names His All-Time Playing XI

Former New Zealand skipper Brendon McCullum has picked up his own all-time playing XI. The team has been posted by Lord’s Cricket Ground on their official youtube channel. The criteria for player selection states that McCullum can only choose players who have played with or against him in the past.

The 34-year old who retired from international cricket quite early due to his back problems has selected Sir Vivian Richards as the captain of the side.

Sachin Tendulkar, Viv Richards

The opening slot of the side has been booked by the former legend Sachin Tendulkar and present power hitter Chris Gayle. Former Australian captain Ricky Ponting has been placed at number 3. West Indies legends Brian Lara and Sir Viv Richards comes in at number 4 and 5. Recently retired South African all-rounder Jacques Kallis is slated at number 6, followed by former Australian wicket-keeper Adam Gilchrist at number 7.

The bowling attack comprises of former Australian players Mitchell Johnson and Shane Warne along with the two current New Zealand pacers Trent Boult and Tim Southee.

Here is the complete list of McCullum’s all-time playing XI:

Chris Gayle, Sachin Tendulkar, Ricky Ponting, Brian Lara, Vivian Richards (c), Jacques Kallis, Adam Gilchrist, Mitchell Johnson, Shane Warne, Tim Southee, Trent Boult

LOVED it? LIKE it!

This article was first published on
For latest cricket news and updates, visit or follow us on Google News.

Share it with a Cricket fan!

Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or get in touch with him on twitter.