Top 10 Best Innings of IPL 2016

Before the start of season 9 of IPL, the batsmen who were expected to do big indeed exceeded the expectations by scoring centuries and providing wholesome entertainment to the crowd.

Here are the Top 10 Best Innings of this year’s IPL :

1.) Quinton de Kock (DD)

H.S.: 108 (51 balls, 15 x 4, 3 x 6) against Royal Challengers Bangalore,Bangalore

Quinton de Kock (DDvsRCB)

When the likes of Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, and Shane Watson put on a mammoth total of 191, it was a challenge for Delhi Daredevils to achieve the target in a hostile atmosphere at Bangalore. But not for Quinton de Kock, who put on a one-man show to make sure that his team chased the big target.

2.) Virat Kohli (RCB)

H.S.: 108 (58 balls, 8 x 4, 7 x 6) against Rising Pune Supergiants, Bangalore.

Virat Kohli (RCBvsRPS)

Captain Kohli’s century and his team’s batting strength was good enough to reach Pune’s target of 192, with Kohli bagging the man of the match award.

3.) AB De Villiers (RCB)

It was yet another RCB player, who broke the IPL charts, as AB De Villiers scored the highest individual score in this season’s IPL. Along with him, Virat Kohli too joined the party to reach the highest team total of this season – 248/3.

4.) Virat Kohli (RCB)

It was again Kohli, who is in supreme touch this year. He scored the 4th IPL hundred of the season off just 50 deliveries which are also his fastest century in IPL career.

>5.) David Warner (SRH)

In what seems to be an easy target of 143 for SunRisers Hyderabad, David Warner single-handedly took his team home with unbeaten 90. Therefore, SRH registering their 1st win in this season.

6.) Krunal Pandya (MI)

The knock of 86 runs off just 37 balls was one of the best by an uncapped player for his team.

7.) Rohit Sharma (MI)

Rohit Sharma showed his leadership by coming in front to chase the big target of 187 set by KKR. He achieved the target with calm and composure. This shows his maturity that he has developed as a captain.

8.) AB De Villiers (RCB)

Chasing the target of 158, RCB were struggling at 68/6 with AB de Villiers on the crease. He took the responsibility of taking his team towards victory and he did that, with the match-saving knock of 79*. In the end, RCB won the game and qualified for the final.

9.) MS Dhoni (RPS)

H.S.: 64* (32 Balls, 4 x 4 , 6 x 5) against Kings XI Punjab, Vizag

MS Dhoni (RPSvsKXIP)

One of the best finishers of this era, MS Dhoni took the match till the last over as his team needed 12 runs from the final 2 balls. The fans went crazy after he hit the last 2 balls for 2 sixes, thereby playing an unforgettable inning.

10.) David Warner (SRH)

H.S.: 93* (58 Balls, 11 x 4, 3 x 6 ) vs Gujarat Lions, Qualifier 2, Feroz Shah Kotla

David Warner (SRHvsGL)

David Warner played another captaincy knock when the team was struggling at 84/5 while chasing a decent total of 163. The captain kept up with the pace with the support stand from Bipul Sharma and reached the target at the last moment. David Warner’s heroics in the final match also lead the team to win the IPL trophy.

This article was first published on
For latest cricket news and updates, visit or follow us on Google News.

Share it with a Cricket fan!

Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at [email protected] or get in touch with him on twitter.