Team India’s Test Vice-Captain Ajinkya Rahane named for Arjuna Award

Ajinkya Rahane, who serves as Virat Kohli’s deputy in Test Cricket has been selected for this year’s prestigious Arjuna Award.

India’s new Mr. Consistent, Rahane has been India’s best overseas batsman in recent times. He scored his seventh and eighth Test century in the recently concluded series against the West Indies.

Also READ : Ajinkya Rahane reveals his childhood story

Apart from Rahane, archer Rajat Chauhan, athlete Lalita Babar, cueist Sourav Kothari, boxer Shiva Thapa, footballer Subrata Paul, hockey stars V R Raghunath and Rani Rampal, shooters Gurpreet Singh, Apurvi Chandela, paddler Soumyajit Ghosh, wrestlers Vinesh Phogat and Amit Kumar, Para-athletes Sandeep Singh Maan and Virender Singh will be conferred with the Arjuna Award.

The award constitutes a cash prize of Rs 5 lakh and medal and a citation.

President Pranab Mukherjee will give away the awards at Rashtrapati Bhavan on August 29,2016 which is celebrated as the National Sports Day.

LOVED it? LIKE it!

This article was first published on
For latest cricket news and updates, visit or follow us on Google News.

Share it with a Cricket fan!

Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or get in touch with him on twitter.