MS Dhoni named captain of Wisden’s all-time Indian Test XI

Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been named the captain of the all-time Indian Test XI chosen by cricket magazine Wisden.

The celebrated team has been picked ahead of India’s 500th Test being played against New Zealand in Kanpur.

The opening batsmen in the team are Sunil Gavaskar and Virender Sehwag. Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar and VVS Laxman make the list as the middle-over batsmen.

Veteran Indian all-rounder Kapil Dev along with Javagal Srinath and Zaheer Khan have been named as pacers, while legendary Bishen Singh Bedi, Harbhajan Singh and Team India coach Anil Kumble are the spinners.

Dhoni, who played a total of 90 Test matches in his career between 2005 and 2014, holds a number of records as the former Indian Test team captain.

He has the most wins by an Indian captain in Test cricket and has led India to the number one position in the ICC Test rankings for the first time ever in 2009.

Mahi also inspired Team India to become the first team in more than 40 years to whitewash Australia in a Test series in 2013.

Wisden Test XI:

Sunil Gavaskar, Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, V.V.S. Laxman, Kapil Dev, M.S. Dhoni (c, wk), Anil Kumble, Javagal Srinath, Zaheer Khan, Bishan Singh Bedi, Mohammad Azharuddin (12th man).

This article was first published on
For latest cricket news and updates, visit or follow us on Google News.

Share it with a Cricket fan!

Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at [email protected] or get in touch with him on twitter.