Indian Premier League (IPL) 2017 set to start on April 5

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has earmarked 5th April as the starting date and 21st May as the day of the final for the 10th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Both the T20 matches will be played at Hyderabad, as per IPL norms, with the defending champions getting the rights to host the opening and final match of the tournament.

The IPL Governing Council chairman Rajeev Shukla told reporters, “The auctions will happen in Bengaluru on February 4. We had to keep a gap of one week after the Australia series.” He also added that no decision has been taken in violation to the directives of the Supreme Court-appointed Justice Lodha Committee.

So now, if the dates are confirmed, the tournament will be held less than a week after India and Australia finish the final Test of their four-match series in Dharamsala, scheduled to end on 29th March.

Additionally, the IPL final will be played 10 days before the ICC Champions Trophy, which starts on 1st June in England.

This article was first published on
For latest cricket news and updates, visit or follow us on Google News.

Share it with a Cricket fan!

Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at [email protected] or get in touch with him on twitter.