When Indian spinner bowled only 5 balls in an over and went unnoticed

In the ongoing second Test match between India and England at Visakhapatnam, on day 4, Indian off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin bowled only 5 balls in an over during England’s second innings.

When England was at 70/0 in the 47th over, Ashwin bowled 5 balls in that over before the umpire called it an ‘over’. At this instant, neither did the English batsmen take notice of it nor did the Indian team realise about it. Both the on-field umpires also missed the trick and their calculation.


indian-cricket-team-at-vizag

In the 47th over, the first ball yielded two runs for the English team in the form of leg byes. The next ball was defended by Alastair Cook. The third delivery of the over had an awkward bounce that saw Cook take a blow on his thigh pads.

The fourth ball hit Cook on his pads and the Indian team took DRS after Ashwin being convinced for a wicket. But the review went unsuccessful for the home team.


The 5th ball was driven to short cover by Cook for a single. This is how the the 47th over ended with just 5 balls being bowled.

LOVED it? LIKE it!




This article was first published on CricketTimes.com.
For latest cricket news and updates, visit https://crickettimes.com or follow us on Google News.

Share it with a Cricket fan!

Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudhsingh2904@gmail.com or get in touch with him on twitter.