Virat Kohli bags no.1 spot in Lord’s Cricket Ground list of top 20 players of 2016

Following the footsteps of the International Cricket Council (ICC), the Lord’s Ground has prepared a list of star players of the year 2016.

The official YouTube channel of Lords’ has posted a video, highlighting the performances of each player for the calendar year.

Team India’s Test skipper Virat Kohli has bagged the no. 1 spot in the top 20 players list, experiencing a sensational performance across all the formats of the game in 2016.

English wicket-keeper batsman Jonny Bairstow follows Kohli at no. 2 while ICC Cricketer of the year Ravichandran Ashwin came in third ahead of Sri Lankan spin wizard Rangana Herath, who is ranked at fourth place.

Here is the complete list of players:-

1.) Virat Kohli
2.) Jonny Bairstow
3.) Ravichandran Ashwin
4.) Rangana Herath
5.) Chris Woakes
6.) Kagiso Rabada
7.) Joe Root
8.) Quinton de Kock
9.) Mitchell Starc
10.) Ben Stokes
11.) Misbah-ul-Haq
12.) David Warner
13.) Ajinkya Rahane
14.) Steve Smith
15.) Yasir Shah
16.) Marlon Samuels
17.) Kusal Mendis
18.) Cheteshwar Pujara
19.) Imran Tahir
20.) Shakib Al Hasan

Kane Williamson was one of the surprise exclusions from the list as he was selected by ICC in its Test team of the year 2016.

Also READ: List of players who are selected in ICC Test and ODI Teams of the Year 2016

LOVED it? LIKE it!

This article was first published on
For latest cricket news and updates, visit or follow us on Google News.

Share it with a Cricket fan!

Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or get in touch with him on twitter.