Virat Kohli breaks AB de Villiers record in the Kolkata ODI

Posted On / /
Virat Kohli breaks AB de Villiers record in the Kolkata ODI

In the third and final match of the series between India and England played at the Eden Gardens, Kolkata, Team India’s star batsman Virat Kohli completed 1,000 runs as ODI captain. He is now the seventh Indian batsman to achieve this feat.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni leads the list with 6,633 runs, followed by Mohammad Azharuddin (5,239), Sourav Ganguly (5,082), Rahul Dravid (2,658), Sachin Tendulkar (2,454) and Kapil Dev (1,564).

Kohli is also the fastest to reach this landmark as captain surpassing South Africa’s swashbuckling batsman AB de Villiers.

Here is the list of top 3 batsmen fastest to reach 1000 runs as ODI captain (by innings):

1.) Virat Kohli (17)
2.) AB de Villiers  (18)
3.) Kane Williamson (20)

TAGS: , , , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: AB de Villiers, Featured, India, Kane Williamson, New Zealand, News, ODI, South Africa, Teams, Virat Kohli

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.