Virat Kohli to be conferred with the Padma Shri Award

Posted On / /
Virat Kohli to be conferred with the Padma Shri Award

Virat Kohli will receive Padma Shri, the fourth-highest civilian award in India, the government officially announced on Wednesday (January 25).

Having already led India to the No. 1 Test team in 2016, the onset of the year saw MS Dhoni step down and Kohli taking over the captaincy mantle in all the three formats.

In fact, Kohli celebrated the appointment by defeating England 2-1 in his first series after being appointed ‘full-time’ captain.

Kohli was awarded the Arjuna Award in recognition of his achievements in International cricket in the year 2013.

Other sportsperson in the list of awardees include Rio Olympics bronze medallist Sakshi Malik, gymnast Dipa Karmakar, discus thrower Vikas Gowda, national hockey team captain PR Sreejesh, captain of India’s blind cricket team Shekhar Naik and Paralympics gold medallist Mariyappan Thangavelu.

Also READ: MS Dhoni to be awarded Padma Bhushan on the Republic Day of India

TAGS: , , , , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Featured, India, News, Players, Teams, Virat Kohli

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.