Winners of ESPNCricinfo Awards 2016 announced

Posted On / /
Winners of ESPNCricinfo Awards 2016 announced

India’s Virat Kohli has been named as the ‘Captain of the Year’ while England’s Ben Stokes won the ‘Test Batting Performance of the Year’ at the 10th annual ESPNcricinfo Awards.

Winners were selected by an independent jury including former cricket greats, ESPNcricinfo’s senior editors, writers and global correspondents, comprising Ian Chappell, Mahela Jayawardene, Isa Guha, Sambit Bal, Mark Butcher, Ramiz Raja, Courtney Walsh and Simon Taufel.

Here is the complete list of nominees and the winners:

Debutant of the year 
Nominees: Haseeb Hameed (England), Keaton Jennings (England), Karun Nair (India), Jayant Yadav (India), Mehedi Hasan (Bangladesh), Stephen Cook (South Africa), Jasprit Bumrah (India), Evin Lewis (West Indies), Jeet Raval (New Zealand), Peter Handscomb (Australia)
Winner: Mehedi Hasan (Bangladesh)

Best Test batting performance 
Ben Stokes (England), Temba Bavuma (South Africa), Brendon McCullum (New Zealand), Misbah-Ul-Haq (Pakistan), Younis Khan (Pakistan), Kusal Mendis (Sri Lanka), Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh), JP Duminy (South Africa), Virat Kohli (India), Peter Handscomb (Australia)
Ben Stokes (England)

Best Test bowling performance 
Stuart Broad (England), Yasir Shah (Pakistan), Rangana Herath (Sri Lanka), Dilruwan Perera (Sri Lanka), Ravi Ashwin (India), Mehedi Hasan  (Bangladesh), Kagiso Rabada (South Africa), Vernon Philander (South Africa), Tim Southee (New Zealand), Ravindra Jadeja (India)
Winner: Stuart Broad (England)

Best T20I batting performance 
Virat Kohli (India), Sabbir Rahman (Bangladesh), Mahmudullah (Bangladesh), Chris Gayle (West Indies), Joe Root (England), Landl Simmons (West Indies), Marlon Samuels (West Indies), Carlos Brathwaite (West Indies), Glenn Maxwell (Australia)
Winner: Carlos Brathwaite (West Indies)

Best T20I bowling performance 
Kasun Rajitha (Sri Lanka), Mohammad Amir (Pakistan), Mitchell Santner (New Zealand), Mitchell McClenaghan (New Zealand), Ravi Ashwin (India), James Faulkner (Australia), Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh), Chris Jordan (England), Dwayne Bravo (West Indies), Imad Wasim (Pakistan)
Winner: Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh)

Best ODI batting performance 
Steve Smith (Australia), Chris Morris (South Africa), AB de Villiers (South Africa), Chris Woakes (England), Jason Roy (England), Alex Hales (England), Quinton de Kock (South Africa), David Miller (South Africa), Virat Kohli (India), David Warner (Australia)
Winner: Quinton de Kock (South Africa)

Best ODI bowling performance 
Kane Richardson (Australia), Sunil Narine (West Indies), Imran Tahir (South Africa), Mitchell Marsh (Australia), James Faulkner (Australia), Amila Aponso (Sri Lanka), John Hastings (Australia), Jake Ball (England), Mashrafe Mortaza (Bangladesh), Amit Mishra (India)
Winner: Sunil Narine (West Indies)

Captain of the year
Misbal-Ul-Haq (Pakistan), Eoin Morgan (England), Faf du Plessis (South Africa), Virat Kohli (India), Kane Williamson (New Zealand)
Winner: Virat Kohli (India)

Women’s batting performance of the year
Hayley Matthews (West Indies)

Women’s bowling performance of the year
Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand)

Associate batting performance of the year
Mohammad Shahzad (Afghanistan)

Associate bowling performance of the year
Mohammad Nabi (Afghanistan)

TAGS: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ben Stokes, Carlos Brathwaite, England, Featured, India, Mehedy Hasan, Mohammad Nabi, Mohammad Shahzad, Mustafizur Rahman, New Zealand, News, ODI, Players, Quinton de Kock, South Africa, Stuart Broad, Sunil Narine, T20, Teams, Test Match, Virat Kohli, West Indies

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.