Rohit Sharma ruled out of Deodhar Trophy 2017

Posted On / /
Rohit Sharma ruled out of Deodhar Trophy 2017

Rohit Sharma, who was all set to lead India Blue in the Deodhar Trophy has been ruled out as he is nursing a knee injury.

Team India’s opening batsman has been out of International cricket since October 2016 and will miss another chance to prove his fitness ahead of upcoming IPL and the ICC Champions Trophy.

The All India Selection committee on Thursday has named Ruturaj Gaikwad as replacement for Rohit who has been advised rest by the BCCI.

India Red batsman Kedar Jadhav will also miss out due to a stomach related ailment and he will be replaced by CV Milind.

Harbhajan Singh will now lead the India Blue in place of Rohit, in the tournament which will be played in Vizag from March 25-29.

Squads of India Blue and India Red:

India Blue: Harbhajan Singh (c), Mandeep Singh, Ambati Rayudu, Manoj Tiwary, Rishabh Pant (wk), Deepak Hooda, Krunal Pandya, Shahbaz Nadeem, Siddarth Kaul, Shardul Thakur, Prasidh Krishna, Pankaj Rao, Ruturaj Gaikwad

India Red: Parthiv Patel (c & wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Manish Pandey, Mayank Agarwal, Ishank Jaggi, Gurkeerat Mann, Axar Patel, Akshay Karnewar, Ashok Dinda, Kulwant Khejroliya, Dhawal Kulkarni, Govinda Poddar, Sreevats Goswami, CV Milind

Here’s the complete schedule of matches in the Deodhar Trophy:

1.) March 25th 2017 – India Blue vs India Red
2.) March 26th 2017 – India Red vs Tamil Nadu
3.) March 27th 2017 – India Blue vs Tamil Nadu
4.) March 29th 2017 – Final

TAGS: , , ,

CATEGORY: Featured, India, Kedar Jadhav, News, Players, Rohit Sharma, Teams

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Weekly Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.