Biggest Umpiring Blunder Of IPL 2017 During A Match Between Mumbai Indians And Sunrisers Hyderabad

Posted On / /

During the match between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Mumbai Indians at Wankhede, the on-field umpires made the biggest blunder of the ongoing IPL T20.

The incident took place when Mumbai Indian’s pacer Jasprit Bumrah bowled the 6th over of the innings against SRH opening batsman David Warner and Shikhar Dhawan. Bumrah bowled the last ball of the over to Warner, who latched on to the loose delivery and used Bumrah’s pace to hit a boundary over the backward point region.

So as per basic the rules of cricket, in the next over Shikhar Dhawan should have taken the strike in the next over. However, it was David Warner who played the first ball of the 7th over again. Mitchell McClenaghan ran in to bowl the over while Warner played it towards the long on-region and took a single.

But, the umpired failed to notice this.

Here is what happened in the two deliveries:

5.5: Bumrah to Warner, FOUR! Warner expertly placed a moving delivery to the left of a chasing third man. No power there, all timing. Warner just used the pace provided to him by Bumrah.

6.1: McClenaghan to Warner, 1 run, full on the stumps, Warner tried to hoick it to long on, but ended up skying the ball to the leg side. It reached long on in one bounce.

Here’s how cricket fraternity reacts to this umpiring blunder:

TAGS: , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: David Warner, Featured, IPL, Mumbai Indians, News, Players, Shikhar Dhawan, Sunrisers Hyderabad, T20

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.