Shane Warne Picks His All-Time Playing XI From The IPL

Posted On / /
Shane Warne Picks His All-Time Playing XI From The IPL

Australia’s legendary spinner Shane Warne, who captained Rajasthan Royals to title triumph in the inaugural Indian Premier League (IPL), has picked his all-time playing XI from the IPL.

Warne announced his playing XI in reply to a question on Facebook and the criteria for selection was, overseas players quota is only four players as in real IPL matches.

In his IPL team, Warne made MS Dhoni as the captain of the side. But the team has no place for other Indian legends like Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag. Another notable Indian missing from the list is Suresh Raina – the tournament’s leading run scorer.

However, there are names of Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh and Umesh Yadav in the playing XI.

They are joined by 4 overseas players- Chris Gayle, Brendon McCullum, Jaques Kallis and Lasith Malinga. The notable International player missing from the list is AB de Villiers.

Here is Shane Warne’s all-time IPL playing XI

1. Chris Gayle (OS)
2. Brendon McCullum (OS)
3. Jacques Kallis (OS)
4. Virat Kohli
5. Rohit Sharma
6. Yuvraj Singh
7. Mahendra Singh Dhoni (C)
8. Ravindra Jadeja
9. Harbhajan Singh
10. Lasith Malinga (OS)
11. Umesh Yadav

TAGS: , , , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Australia, Chennai Super Kings, Featured, India, IPL, MS Dhoni, News, Players, Rising Pune Supergiant, Shane Warne, T20, Teams

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.