Top 10 highest powerplay scores in IPL history

Posted On / /
Top 10 highest powerplay scores in IPL history

On May 7, 2017, the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) openers Chris Lynn and Sunil Narine smashed the highest ever powerplay score in Indian Premier League (IPL) history during a game against the Royal Challengers Bangalore at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

Chasing 159, the opening duo tore the RCB bowling attack and added 105 runs from the first six overs, overtaking the previous record of 100 runs set by Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in IPL 2014.

Lynn and Narine launched an uninhibited salvo from both ends to plunder as many as 105 runs in power play overs. They managed such a feat without getting separated.

Here are the top 10 powerplay scores in IPL history:

1.) Kolkata Knight Riders
Score 105/0
Opposition: Royal Challengers Bangalore
Year: 2017

2.) Chennai Super Kings
Score: 100/2
Opposition: Kings XI Punjab
Year: 2014

3.) Chennai Super Kings
Score: 90/0
Opposition: Mumbai Indians
Year: 2015

4.) Kochi Tuskers Kerala
Score: 87/2
Opposition: Rajasthan Royals
Year: 2011

5.) Kings XI Punjab
Score: 86/1
Opposition: Sunrisers Hyderabad
Year: 2014

6.) Mumbai Indians
Score: 84/0
Opposition: Delhi Daredevils
Year: 2018

7.) Deccan Chargers
Score: 84/1
Opposition: Delhi Daredevils
Year: 2009

8.) Sunrisers Hyderabad
Score: 83/1
Opposition: Mumbai Indians
Year: 2021

9.) Kings XI Punjab
Score: 82/1
Opposition: Mumbai Indians
Year: 2017

10.) Delhi Capitals
Score: 81/0
Opposition: Punjab Kings
Year: 2022

TAGS: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Chennai Super Kings, Deccan Chargers, Delhi Daredevils, IPL, Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians, Punjab Kings, Rajasthan Royals, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Sunrisers Hyderabad, T20

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Weekly Newsletter.

About the Author: provides Latest Cricket News, Live Scores, Schedule, Results, ICC Rankings, Stats, and Videos. Write to us at