ICC announces team of the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017

Posted On / /
ICC announces team of the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the Team of the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 with India’s Mithali Raj as its captain.

A five member selection panel comprising of Geoff Allardice – the ICC General Manager, Cricket, and Chairman Event Technical Committee, Ian Bishop – former West Indies fast bowler, Charlotte Edwards – former England captain, Snehal Pradhan – former Indian player and Lisa Sthalekar– former Australian all-rounder named the elite 12-member team post the tournament.

The side comprises four players from England, including player of the tournament Tamsin Beaumont, player of the final Anya Shrubsole, wicketkeeper Sarah Taylor and left-arm spinner Alex Hartley; Harmanpreet Kaur and Deepti Sharma along with Mithali from India; three from South Africa including opener Laura Wolvaardt and bowlers Marizanne Kapp and Dane van Niekerk, and Australia all-rounder Ellyse Perry.

England’s Natalie Sciver was chosen as the 12th player in the side.

Mithali, Taylor and Shrubsole have been picked in the Team of the Tournament for the second time in their careers.

Mithali and Taylor were selected in the Team of the ICC Women’s World Cup 2009, which England won in Sydney in 2009, while Shrubsole was named in the Team of the ICC Women’s World Cup 2013, which Australia won in India in January/February 2013.

The team of ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 (in batting order):

  1. Tamsin Beaumont (England) – 410 runs
  2. Laura Wolvaardt (South Africa) – 324 runs
  3. Mithali Raj (captain) (India) – 409 runs
  4. Ellyse Perry (Australia) – 404 runs and nine wickets
  5. Sarah Taylor (wicketkeeper) (England) – 396 runs, four catches and two stumpings
  6. Harmanpreet Kaur (India) – 359 runs and five wickets
  7. Deepti Sharma (India) – 216 runs and 12 wickets
  8. Marizanne Kapp (South Africa) – 13 wickets
  9. Dane van Niekerk (South Africa) – 99 runs and 15 wickets
  10. Anya Shrubsole (England) – 12 wickets
  11. Alex Hartley (England) – 10 wickets
  12. Natalie Sciver (12th) (England) – 369 runs and seven wickets

TAGS: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Australia, Deepti Sharma, England, Featured, Harmanpreet Kaur, India, Mithali Raj, News, ODI, Players, Sarah Taylor, South Africa, Teams

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudh@crickettimes.com or anirudhsingh2904@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.