Indian squad for the Test series against Sri Lanka announced

Posted On / /
Indian squad for the Test series against Sri Lanka announced

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the 16-member squad for the upcoming Test series against Sri Lanka which begins on July 26 in Galle.

KL Rahul, who hasn’t played any competitive cricket since India’s Test series against Australia in March because of injury, is back in the squad. Murali Vijay, too, regained fitness, after wrist and shoulder injuries, and is named in the Indian team.

Also, Rohit Sharma made his Test comeback, after being rested for the limited-overs tour of the West Indies. He last played Tests for India during the New Zealand series in October last year, before injuring himself while playing an ODI. His replacement Karun Nair, who scored a triple century against England but scored 54 in four innings after that, has been left out.

It will be interesting to see if Hardik Pandya would make it to the playing XI after impressing the selectors in the concluded ICC Champions Trophy and ODI series against West Indies.

India Test squad:

Virat Kohli (c), Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Abhinav Mukund.

TAGS: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Featured, India, News, Teams, Test Match

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.