BCCI announces Team India’s squad for ODIs & T20I against Sri Lanka

Posted On / /
BCCI announces Team India’s squad for ODIs & T20I against Sri Lanka

The BCCI has announced the Indian squad for the five ODIs and solitary T20 in Sri Lanka. Virat Kohli and Co. have already won the three Test match series by winning the first two matches and is on the verge of defeating the hosts in the third game.

Big news, but along expected lines is the exclusion of left-handed batsman Yuvraj Singh. Young Manish Pandey returns to the squad.

The selectors have also given rest to pacers Mohammed Shamiand Umesh Yadav, with Mumbai fast-bowler Shardul Thakur being given a chance.

Among others, those who have missed the cut are Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin.

The selectors have picked young spinners – Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal with Axar Patel to support them.

Suresh Raina too has been overlooked by the selectors. KL Rahul, who makes a comeback after recovering from his injury is likely to open the innings with Shikhar Dhawan.

15 member Team India’s squad:

Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Ajinkya Rahane, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shardul Thakur.

TAGS: , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Featured, India, News, ODI, T20, Teams

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudh@crickettimes.com or anirudhsingh2904@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.