Shahid Afridi picks his all-time ODI XI

Posted On / /
Shahid Afridi picks his all-time ODI XI

Former Pakistan skipper Shahid Afridi, who has been known for his power-hitting with the bat and leg-break bowling skills, has come up with his all-time ODI XI.

With the criterion for selection being those whom he played with or against, the 37-year-old picked a dream team consisting of numerous legendary cricketers. He picked four Australian players, two Pakistanis, two West Indians and one each from India, Sri Lanka and South Africa.

In Afridi’s team, great Indian batsman Sachin Tendulkar open the batting with Australian wicketkeeper-batsman Adam Gilchrist.

The middle-order comprises of Ricky Ponting, Inzamam ul Haq, and Brian Lara. The likes of Kumar Sangakkara and Jacques Kallis completes the batting line up of ODI XI.

Well, the pace attack of Afridi’s team has been constructed with great Pakistani bowler Wasim Akram and pace shuttle of Australia Glenn McGrath.

One member of West Indies cricket Courtney Walsh accompanies Akram and McGrath in the team.

The spin department goes to solely with Aussie spin wizard Shane Warne. However, Afridi has not selected anyone to lead his dream ODI team while covering most of the cricketing greats from the twentieth century.

Shahid Afridi’s All-Time ODI XI:

Sachin Tendulkar (India), Adam Gilchrist (Australia), Ricky Ponting (Australia), Brian Lara (West Indies), Inzamam-ul-Haq (Pakistan), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka), Jacques Kallis (South Africa), Wasim Akram (Pakistan), Shane Warne (Australia), Glenn McGrath (Australia) and Courtney Walsh (West Indies).

TAGS: , , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: News, ODI, Shahid Afridi

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.