Team India Test match

India squad for Test series against Sri Lanka announced

in Blog/Featured/India/Teams/Test Match

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday announced the squad for the first two Tests against Sri Lanka.

The team will be led by Virat Kohli while Ajinkya Rahane has been named as his deputy. The spin duo of Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja have also got a call back in the 16-member squad.

Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja

Both Ashwin and Jadeja have been out of the Indian limited overs side for quite some time. Ashwin last donned the Indian jersey in Pallekele Test while Jadeja last played for India in Colombo Test against Sri Lanka.

Opening batsman Murali Vijay who missed the Sri Lanka tour due to injury in his wrist during Australia’s tour of India is now back in the team.

The fast bowling unit will once again get the services of Mohammed Shami and Umesh Yadav who had to make their way out from the limited overs squad for New Zealand series.

India Squad:

Virat Kohli (c), KL Rahul, Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Cheteshwar Pujara, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma

This article was first published on
For latest cricket news and updates, visit