India to host 2021 Champions Trophy and 2023 World Cup

India is all set to host the ICC Cricket World Cup in 2023, after the BCCI confirmed the host nation in its SGM, held on Monday.

India will also host the upcoming ICC Champions Trophy in 2021.

ICC Champions Trophy 2013- India

The allotment of the same was done back in June 2013 itself, with India receiving the hosting rights of the World T20 in 2016.

This will be the first time that the global cricketing events will be completely held in India: the nation has previously hosted the World Cup partially on three different occasions – in 1987, 1996 and 2011.

Similar to the previous editions, the tournament is set to feature 10 teams, with two sides qualifying from the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifiers in 2022.

Partial hosts for the 2011 World Cup, the Indian side went on to win the event, their second World Cup triumph in the 50-overs format.

Led by MS Dhoni, India defeated Sri Lanka in the finals by six wickets to win the tournament at the Wankhede stadium in Mumbai, becoming the first host side to win the World Cup.

LOVED it? LIKE it!

This article was first published on
For latest cricket news and updates, visit or follow us on Google News.

Share it with a Cricket fan!

Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or get in touch with him on twitter.