Team India U19

India’s squad for the 2018 Under-19 World Cup announced

in Blog/Featured/India/ODI/Teams

Prithvi Shaw has been picked to lead India’s Under-19 team at the ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup 2018.

The All-India Junior Selection Committee on Sunday announced the 16-member squad for the tournament that will take place in New Zealand from January 13 to February 3.

Prithvi would captain the side that includes the Punjab duo of Shubman Gill and Abhishek Sharma, new ball partners from Rajasthan Kamlesh Nagarkoti and Shivam Mavi, Bengal pacer Ishan Porel among others. Shubman has been named Prithvi’s deputy for the extravaganza.

Prithvi Shaw

India is the joint-most successful team in the history of the tournament, with Australia having won the title thrice. In the last edition of the tournament in 2016 held in Bangladesh, India lost in the final ODI against West Indies.

Ahead of the tournament, the U-19 squad will be participating in a preparatory camp in Bengaluru from 8 to December 22, 2017. However, Mumbai’s Shaw and Bengal’s Porel have been allowed to join their respective Ranji Trophy teams for the quarter-final matches and will join the camp on December 12.

India U-19 Team: Prithvi Shaw (c), Shubman Gill (vc), Manjot Kalra, Himanshu Rana, Abhishek Sharma, Riyan Parag, Aryan Juyal (wk), Harvik Desai (wk), Shivam Mavi, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Ishan Porel, Arshdeep Singh, Anukul Roy, Shiva Singh and Pankaj Yadav.

Standby Players: Om Bhosle, Rahul Chahar, Ninad Rathva, Urvil Patel, Aditya Thakare

This article was first published on
For latest cricket news and updates, visit