IPL 2018 auction: Deadline for submitting retention list announced

Posted On / /

The mega-auction for the IPL 2018 auction is scheduled to be held in Bengaluru on January 27 and 28, the BCCI official reported on Tuesday.

Ahead of the auction, franchises have been asked to submit the list of players they will retain so that the IPL Governing Council can make a final list of players who will go into the auction pool.

January 4th has been announced as the deadline for all the eight franchises to submit their retention list, and the Governing Council will release the list of players who will go under the hammer on January 18, nine days before the auction.

As per the governing council’s decision, a franchise can retain five players using one of two combinations – three pre-auction retentions and two RTMs, or two pre-auction retentions and three RTMs. Either way, a franchise can retain or use RTM for a maximum of three players in the auction. Moreover, if a franchise doesn’t retain even a single player before the auction, they still cannot use more than three RTMs.

More players from Afghanistan and associate teams are expected to be picked this year given the success of Rashid Khan and Mohammad Nabi in the last season.

TAGS: , ,

CATEGORY: Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Daredevils, Featured, India, IPL, Kings XI Punjab, Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians, News, Rajasthan Royals, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Sunrisers Hyderabad, T20, Teams

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudh@crickettimes.com or anirudhsingh2904@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.