MS Dhoni goes past AB de Villiers’ record to register most T20I dismissals

Posted On / /

MS Dhoni required three dismissals to break the record for most dismissals in T20Is. AB de Villiers had 72 to his name, while nobody else has more than 60. Nonetheless, it took Dhoni only 11.1 overs to surpass de Villiers in the first T20I played between India and Sri Lanka on Wednesday.

In the first T20I at Cuttack, Dhoni accounted for 2 catches and 2 stumping. All of them came on the bowling of spinners — three in Yuzvendra Chahal’s bowling and one on the ball delivered by Kuldeep Yadav.

Here are the records created by MS Dhoni in the 1st T20I against Sri Lanka:

1.) No one has taken more catches in T20s than MS Dhoni and Kumar Sangakkara as wicketkeepers in T20s:

133 – Kumar Sangakkara, MS DHONI
121 – Dinesh Karthik

2.) MS Dhoni went past AB de Villiers’ record for most dismissals in T20Is, taking his tally to 74, one more than the Proteas’ record.

3.) Five number of times MS Dhoni hit a six on the final ball of the 20th over in a T20I. No other player has hit a six on the final ball of the 20th over more than twice.

4.) MS Dhoni’s four dismissals in a T20I are the joint most by an Indian wicketkeeper. Dhoni made four dismissals in World T20 in 2010 against Afghanistan and also in the 2012 World T20 against Pakistan. He is the only wicketkeeper with four dismissals in a T20I on three different occasions.

TAGS: , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Featured, India, MS Dhoni, News, Players, T20, Teams

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.