Chennai Super Kings retains these 3 players for IPL 2018

Posted On / /

The Indian Premier League (IPL) Governing Council, along with the Committee of Administrators (CoA), devised new rules and regulations for the upcoming season in a meeting that recently took place in New Delhi.

Among the many issues discussed, were auction rules such as the IPL player retention policy, salary cap and player regulations.

The eight teams that will take part in the 2018 edition of the IPL can retain a maximum of five players subject to a maximum of three capped Indian players, a maximum of two overseas players and a maximum of two uncapped Indian players.

Meanwhile, as per the reports in Dainik Jagran, the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) has retained MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina and Ravindra Jadeja for the 11th edition of IPL.

So now, former CSK players like Ravichandran Ashwin, Faf Du Plessis, Brendon McCullum and Dwayne Bravo have to go under the hammer in the auctions scheduled to take place in January end next year.

Also, CSK can use Right to match (RTM), a new option made available to the teams to retain its players by bidding the exact amount for which the player is sold at the auction.

However, after retaining Dhoni, Raina and Jadeja, a total of Rs 33 crore will be deducted from the CSK purse- Rs 15 crore for first player, Rs 11 crore for second player and Rs 7 crore for third player.

TAGS: , , , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Chennai Super Kings, Featured, India, IPL, MS Dhoni, News, Players, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Suresh Raina, T20, Teams

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.