Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL

Sunrisers Hyderabad to retain these 3 players for IPL 2018

in Blog

Preparations for the 11th edition of Indian Premier League (IPL) are on a roll as teams are gearing up for players retention ahead of mega players auction on 27 and 28 January 2018.

As per IPL players retention norms, one franchise can retain a maximum of 3 players from their previous squad. Meanwhile, they have a maximum of 2 Right To Match choice option for an opting player on the roster again. Hence a team can have 5 players at most from their previous squad. Also, franchises have to submit their retention players list by 4th January.

Now, as per a report, it is learned that Sunrisers Hyderabad is going to retain David Warner, Shikhar Dhawan, and Bhuvneshwar Kumar ahead of the auctions. Veteran Yuvraj Singh is struggling with the form and was not part of Indian cricket team and will go under the hammer.

“Dhawan, Bhuvi, and Warner have done a tremendous job for Hyderabad team and these were key players in 2016’s victory. Hence we have decided to retain these three from our 2017 squad,” a close member of the SRH team told to Sports Mirchi reporter in Hyderabad.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar, David Warner

Warner, Dhawan and Bhuvneshwar were special parts of team’s success during the 2016 and 2017 edition. The SRH member also mentioned that they are keen to retain these three players before auction as per IPL retention policy.

Over the last couple of IPL seasons, David Warner has emerged out to be one of the consistent run-getters. Dhawan has been no less either. Meanwhile, Bhuvi is one of the hottest death bowling prospects in the shortest format of the game and the Purple Cap winner of the last two editions.

This article was first published on
For latest cricket news and updates, visit