Rohit Sharma breaks AB de Villiers record set in 2015

Posted On / /
Rohit Sharma breaks AB de Villiers record set in 2015

Rohit Sharma came in, he saw and he conquered, and by the time the dust had settled in Indore following the carnage, India’s stand-in skipper broke some big records.

His 35-ball blitz helped him equal the record of the fastest T20 International century, set by South Africa’s David Miller. But while he equalled a South African’s record, he went past another one. Rohit overtook AB de Villers‘ record of most sixes in a calendar year that was set by the Proteas star batsman in 2015.

Rohit’s innings of 118 off 43 balls against Sri Lanka in the second T20I included 12 fours and 10 sixes. This helped him to take his tally of sixes in 2017 to 64 and there could be more to come with the final T20I to be played at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Sunday.

Here are few of the records created by Rohit Sharma during his sensational knock:

Rohit Sharma’s 10 sixes in this innings are the most by a captain in a T20I match.

Rohit scored his century off just 35 balls, the joint-fastest by any batsman in T20Is.

Rohit’s 118 is the highest individual scores by an Indian captain in T20I cricket.

Rohit Sharma hit 64 sixes in 2017, the most sixes by a batsman in a calendar year in International cricket. AB de Villiers scored 63 in 2015.

He became the first Indian player to hit 10 or more sixes in both an ODI and a T20I match.

Rohit’s 118 off 43 balls is the highest T20I score by an Indian batsman.

TAGS: , , , , ,

CATEGORY: AB de Villiers, Featured, India, News, Players, Rohit Sharma, South Africa, T20, Teams

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.