India to tour Ireland for two-match T20I series

Posted On / /
India to tour Ireland for two-match T20I series

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), on Wednesday, announced that Indian team will play two T20Is against Ireland before they embark on a tour to England in July.

The two T20Is will be held in Dublin on June 27 and June 29, 2018, respectively.

The last time India toured Ireland back in 2007, in which they played an ODI at Belfast. India won the match by 9 wickets (D/L method). In the same match, India’s opening batsman Rohit Sharma made his ODI debut.

However, India has faced Ireland only once in T20Is during the World T20 2009 at Nottingham. India won that game comfortably by 8 wickets by chasing only 113. With the addition of two matches, India will play back to back 5 T20Is in Europe as they will start with their England series with the shortest format.

Also, with this tour of Ireland by India, they will become the 12th team and only second Test-playing nation to travel there for a T20I series. Bangladesh is the only Test-playing nation to have toured Ireland for T20Is.

After their short tour of Ireland, India is scheduled to play three T20Is, three ODIs and five Tests in England.

Schedule of T20Is in Ireland:

June 27: 1st T20I (Malahide, Dublin)
June 29: 2nd T20I (Malahide, Dublin)

TAGS: , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Featured, India, Ireland, News, T20, Teams

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author: provides Latest Cricket News, Live Scores, Schedule, Results, ICC Rankings, Stats, and Videos. Write to us at