IPL 2018: Dates, opening ceremony, match timings, broadcasting channel

The 11th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) will begin on April 7 and the tournament will go on till May 27, the IPL governing council said on Monday.

It is going to be a 52-day carnival of T20 cricket in India.

This year the IPL extravaganza is going to have a grand opening ceremony as well; the date is fixed as 6th April. However, there are no updates regarding the two teams who will be competing in the first match.

IPL Commissioner Rajiv Shukla has revealed that the opening ceremony, first match and the last match will be held in Mumbai.

The IPL governing council also shifted the start of the matches, which were scheduled to begin at 8pm and 4pm earlier. “The Broadcasters requested for a change in timings and IPL governing council in principal has accepted it,” Rajeev Shukla said.

Preity Zinta

Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) will play four of their home games in Mohali and three in Indore, while the home matches of Rajasthan Royals (RR), who are returning to IPL after serving a two-year ban, will be decided after the Rajasthan High court’s hearing on January 24.

IPL 2018 details:

  • Opening ceremony: April 6
  • Main tournament: April 7 to May 27
  • Broadcasting channel: Star Sports 1,2
  • Online streaming: Hotstar
  • Match timings: Afternoon matches: 5:30 pm; Night matches: 7 pm

LOVED it? LIKE it!

This article was first published on CricketTimes.com.
For latest cricket news and updates, visit https://crickettimes.com or follow us on Google News.

Share it with a Cricket fan!

Rashpal is a T20 commentator at home and passionate traveler. He loves writing about cricket during his free time. You can write to him at rash2007johar@gmail.com or get in touch with him on facebook.