IPL 2018: Marquee Players list announced for the auction

Posted On / /

The Board Of Control for Cricket In India (BCCI) on Saturday released the much-anticipated Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018 Players Auction list.

The list has 16 marquee players from India and overseas headlining the big pool of 578 players that will go under the hammer on January 27 and 28 in Bengaluru.

A total of 62 capped Indians and 298 uncapped Indian cricketers will vie for the available slots with 182 capped overseas cricketers, 34 uncapped overseas players and 2 cricketers from Associate Nations.

The marquee players include Ravichandran Ashwin, Gautam Gambhir, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Harbhajan Singh, Yuvraj Singh, Christopher Gayle, Ben Stokes, Kane Williamson, Glenn Maxwell, Joe Root, Mitchell Starc, Faf du Plessis, Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard and Shakib Hasan. They have all set their base price at Rs 2 crore.

The 16 marquee players have been bracketed into M1 and M2 categories. Current India players Ashwin, Shikhar Dhawan and Ajinkya Rahane are in the top marquee list along with Stokes, who is again expected to trigger a bidding war. Currently, the world’s premier fast bowler Mitchell Starc and T20 legend Chris Gayle are also in the M1 category.

Some of the veteran internationals in the second tier of the marquee list (M2) are Harbhajan Singh, Gautam Gambhir and Yuvraj Singh.

Here’s the list of marquee players for the auction:

List M1:

  • Ravichandran Ashwin
  • Mitchell Starc
  • Ajinkya Rahane
  • Shikhar Dhawan
  • Chris Gayle
  • Ben Stokes
  • Kieron Pollard
  • Faf du Plessis

List M2:

  • Yuvraj Singh
  • Gautam Gambhir
  • Glenn Maxwell
  • Harbhajan Singh
  • Joe Root
  • Shakib Al Hasan
  • Dwayne Bravo
  • Kane Williamson

TAGS: , , ,

CATEGORY: Featured, IPL, News, Players

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudh@crickettimes.com or anirudhsingh2904@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.