South Africa announce squad for first three ODIs against India

Cricket South Africa have announced a 15-member squad for the first three ODIs of the six-match series against India.

Faf du Plessis will continue to lead the Proteam team, with regulars like Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers and David Miller in the side. Surprise inclusion is that of Wayne Parnell and Khayelihle Zondo.

Quinton de Kock remains to be the only wicketkeeper in the side. JP Duminy and Aiden Markram also earned a spot in the team given their recent performance in the domestic circuit. The fast bowling duties will be led by Morne Morkel and Kagiso Rabada with the likes of Andile Phehlukwayo and Chris Morris.


Lungi Ngidi has also received his maiden ODI call-up. Imran Tahir will join fellow wrist spinner Tabraiz Shamsi to form a potent spinning duo.

South Africa squad:

AB de Villiers, Hashim Amla, Aiden Markram, Quinton de Kock (wk), JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis (c), Imran Tahir, David Miller, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Morne Morkel, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi

LOVED it? LIKE it!

This article was first published on
For latest cricket news and updates, visit or follow us on Google News.

Share it with a Cricket fan!

Rashpal is a T20 commentator at home and passionate traveler. He loves writing about cricket during his free time. You can write to him at or get in touch with him on facebook.