South Africa’s Jiveshen Pillay given out for obstructing the field against West Indies in ICC U-19 World Cup 2018

In a controversial decision that is set to create a debate over the spirit of cricket, South Africa batsman Jiveshan Pillay was given out for obstructing the field in the ongoing ICC U-19 World Cup against the defending champions West Indies on Wednesday.


Jiveshan Pillay

Facing Windies quick Jarion Hoyte, Pillay mistimed an expansive cover drive and edged the ball into his pads.


The ball dribbled towards the stumps but stopped before hitting the woodwork.

Pillay then tapped the resting ball with his bat, picked it up and threw it to West Indies wicketkeeper and captain Emmanuel Stewart.

Stewart was then seen talking to the two standing umpires before Pillay was given out obstructing the field.

But while the decision is bound to spark a widespread debate, there was very little the umpires could do, as they just followed the law.

According to Law 37.4 (Returning the ball to a fielder): “Either batsman is out Obstructing the field if, at any time while the ball is in play and, without the consent of a fielder, he/she uses the bat or any part of his/her person to return the ball to any fielder.”

Here’s the video:

LOVED it? LIKE it!



This article was first published on CricketTimes.com.
For latest cricket news and updates, visit https://crickettimes.com or follow us on Google News.

Share it with a Cricket fan!

Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudhsingh2904@gmail.com or get in touch with him on twitter.