In a controversial decision that is set to create a debate over the spirit of cricket, South Africa batsman Jiveshan Pillay was given out for obstructing the field in the ongoing ICC U-19 World Cup against the defending champions West Indies on Wednesday.
Facing Windies quick Jarion Hoyte, Pillay mistimed an expansive cover drive and edged the ball into his pads.
The ball dribbled towards the stumps but stopped before hitting the woodwork.
Pillay then tapped the resting ball with his bat, picked it up and threw it to West Indies wicketkeeper and captain Emmanuel Stewart.
Stewart was then seen talking to the two standing umpires before Pillay was given out obstructing the field.
But while the decision is bound to spark a widespread debate, there was very little the umpires could do, as they just followed the law.
According to Law 37.4 (Returning the ball to a fielder): “Either batsman is out Obstructing the field if, at any time while the ball is in play and, without the consent of a fielder, he/she uses the bat or any part of his/her person to return the ball to any fielder.”
Here’s the video:
— Rudi (@RudiEdsall) January 17, 2018