South Africa announces squad for T20I series against India

Posted On / /

South Africa and India will play a three-match T20I series after the culmination of the ODI series. The matches will be played from February 18 to February 24.

Cricket South Africa has announced the squad for the T20I series and it includes some surprises. Big names like Kagiso Rabada, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir are missing from the squad and JP Duminy is set to lead the team, in place of Aiden Markram, who too has been rested from the shortest format of the game due to the upcoming Test series against Australia.

The 14-member Proteas squad has names of players like Junior Dala, JJ Smuts, Christiaan Jonker and Duane Paterson, who were a part of recently concluded Ram Slam Challenge. The squad also has AB De Villiers, Tabraiz Shamsi, David Miller and Aaron Phangiso back in the T20I side to face the Men in Blue.

Here’s the complete South Africa squad:

JP Duminy (c), Farhaan Behardien, Junior Dala, AB de Villiers, Reeza Hendricks, Christiaan Jonker, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), David Miller, Chris Morris, Duane Paterson, Aaron Phangiso, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, JJ Smuts.

TAGS: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Featured, JP Duminy, News, Players, South Africa, T20, Teams

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.