India women’s squad for T20I tri-series announced

Posted On / /
India women’s squad for T20I tri-series announced

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the 15-member India squad for the upcoming tri-nation T20I series against England and Australia to be played in Mumbai from March 22 to March 31.

Team India will be led by all-rounder Harmanpreet Kaur and opening batter Smriti Mandhana has been appointed as her deputy.

Jemimah Rodrigues, the 17-year-old batter, and 18-year-old pacer Pooja Vastrakar, who both fared well in their debut series against South Africa, have been retained in the T20 squad.

Veteran players Jhulan Goswami and Mithali Raj and T20 specialist off-spinner Anuja Patil have also been included in the side. India will play their first match against Australia on March 22.

The selectors also picked India A squad that will play two T20 warm-up games against England women on March 18 and 19 in Mumbai. S. Meghna will lead the squad which also features Radha Yadav, another exclusion from the Indian squad that played the T20Is against South Africa.

India Women’s T20I squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana (vc), Mithali Raj, Veda Krishnamurthy, Jemimah Rodrigues, Anuja Patil, Deepti Sharma, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Poonam Yadav, Ekta Bisht, Jhulan Goswami, Shikha Pandey, Pooja Vastrakar, Rumeli Dhar, Mona Meshram

India A squad: S. Meghna (c), Vanitha VR, D. Hemlatha, Monika Das, Tarannum Pathan, Priyanka Priyadarshini, Arundhati Reddy, R. Kalpana (wk), Radha Yadav, Kavita Patil, Shanti Kumari, Preeti Bose, Sheral Rozario, Harleen Deol

TAGS: , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Featured, Harmanpreet Kaur, India, Jhulan Goswami, News, Players, T20, Teams

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.