IPL 2018: Kane Williamson appointed as Sunrisers Hyderabad captain

Posted On / /

New Zealand batsman Kane Williamson has been appointed as the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) captain for the upcoming season of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Williamson has been named captain after David Warner resigned as captain following his involvement in the ball tampering scandal in South Africa. Consequently, he was also banned from participating in the IPL 2018.

In a statement, SRH CEO K Shanmugam said, “We are happy to announce Kane Williamson as the for captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad for IPL 2018.”

Williamson has accepted the role and said, “I’ve accepted the role to stand in as captain for this season. It’s an exciting opportunity with a talented group of players. I look forward to the challenges ahead.”

Williamson made his IPL debut in 2015 for SRH. The New Zealand skipper has played 15 matches in the tournament, scored 411 runs at 31.61 and a strike rate of 129.24. He has 3 IPL fifties to his name with the highest score of 89.

TAGS: , , ,

CATEGORY: Featured, IPL, Kane Williamson, New Zealand, News, Players, Sunrisers Hyderabad, T20, Teams

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
CricketTimes.com provides Latest Cricket News, Live Scores, Schedule, Results, ICC Rankings, Stats, and Videos. Write to us at contact@crickettimes.com.