Twitter reacts as Cricket Australia bans Steve Smith and David Warner for 12 months

Steve Smith and David Warner have been banned for 12 months and Cameron Bancroft for 9 months from playing ‘elite’ cricket following the ball-tampering scandal.

However, they can continue to play Grade Cricket, but the trio will be required to undertake 100 hours of voluntary service in community cricket. Apart from the ban neither Smith nor Warner will be allowed to captain the side for two years. Shortly after CA’s announcement, the BCCI banned both Smith and Warner from playing in IPL 2018 as well.

Meanwhile, wicketkeeper Tim Paine will take over the captaincy of the Australian team for the fourth and final Test in Johannesburg. South Africa is currently leading a bad-tempered series 2-1 as Matt Renshaw, Glenn Maxwell and Joe Burns will fly to South Africa to replace the exiled trio.

Here is how Twitter reacted to the ban:

LOVED it? LIKE it!

This article was first published on
For latest cricket news and updates, visit or follow us on Google News.

Share it with a Cricket fan!

Rashpal is a T20 commentator at home and passionate traveler. He loves writing about cricket during his free time. You can write to him at or get in touch with him on facebook.