IPL 2018: Rajasthan Royals announces the replacement of banned Steve Smith

Posted On / /
IPL 2018: Rajasthan Royals announces the replacement of banned Steve Smith

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) recently barred Australian cricketers David Warner and Steven Smith from participating in the 11th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

The BCCI announced its decision after Cricket Australia handed one-year bans to Warner and Smith for their involvement in ball-tampering. Cricket Australia also suspended Cameron Bancroft for nine months.

While India’s star batsman Ajinkya Rahane will be the captain of Rajasthan Royals in the IPL 2018; South Africa’s wicketkeeper-batsman Heinrich Klaasen will replace Steve Smith in the RR squad.

The Rajasthan based franchise announced Heinrich Klaasen as the replacement for Steve Smith on Monday.

Klaasen has been picked for INR 50 lakh from the Registered and Available Player Pool (RAPP) list by Rajasthan Royals.

The 27-year-old recently made his international debut against India in 50-over format and picked up the Man of the Match award in his second ODI. He then made his debut in the shortest format of the game in the following three-match T20I series.

TAGS: , , , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Australia, Featured, IPL, News, Players, Rajasthan Royals, Steve Smith, T20, Teams

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
CricketTimes.com provides Latest Cricket News, Live Scores, Schedule, Results, ICC Rankings, Stats, and Videos. Write to us at contact@crickettimes.com.