England announces T20I squad for India series

in Blog/England/Eoin Morgan/Featured/Players/T20/Teams

England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) have announced the T20 International squad for the upcoming series against India.

Durham fast-bowler Mark Wood has been rested while Jake Ball has been roped in as his replacement and might well get to make his T20 debut.

Another notable omission from the squad is Sam Billings who has not been in the best of forms in the recent ODI series against Australia.

Sam Curran, who recently made his Test debut against Pakistan along with Chris Jordan, also find a spot in the squad.

Though, Middlesex batsman Dawid Malan, Hampshire’s James Vince and Liam Dawson, have been axed from the T20 squad which took on New Zealand earlier this year.

India will take on England in a three-match T20I series which begins on July 3 in Manchester. The teams will then move to Cardiff and Bristol for the remainder of the matches.

However, the much-awaited series will miss the likes of Ben Stokes and Chris Woakes due to the injury concerns.

England T20 squad:

Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, David Willey.

This article was first published on
For latest cricket news and updates, visit