Caribbean Premier League 2018: Teams, Squads And Change in Rules

Posted On / /

The 2018 edition of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) will start on Wednesday (August 8). A total of 34 games will be played in the tournament which will culminate with the finals to be played on September 16.

In an attempt to make T20 cricket more exciting, the organisers of the CPL have made few changes in the existing rules which will be applicable in this season of the tournament.

In CPL 2018, the decision as to which team bats first in case of a super over will be decided through a coin toss. According to the earlier rules, the team which batted second in a tied match, automatically become eligible to bat first in the super over.

The second change which the fans will be able to witness during the league is the penalty for slow over rate. In general, a team found guilty of slow over rate, is fined a certain per cent of its match fee. However, in CPL 2018, slow over-rate will now affect the Net Run Rate (NRR) of a team, thereby hampering its chances of making progress in the tournament.

According to the changed rules, if a team fails to complete their overs within the allotted time frame then, as a penalty, 0.05 points will be deducted from their net run that could affect their chances of moving ahead in the tournament. For every additional over, the teams will face a supplementary deduction of 0.10 points from the net run rate.

The specified time for completing 20 overs is 85 minutes plus the additional time allotted by the umpires in certain circumstances.


Guyana Amazon Warriors, Barbados Tridents, St Lucia Stars, Jamaica Tallawahs, , Trinbago Knight RidersSt Kitts and Nevis Patriots.


Guyana Amazon Warriors

Sohail Tanvir, Shoaib Malik, Chadwick Walton, Cameron Delport, Rayad Emrit, Imran Tahir, Jason Mohammed, Luke Ronchi, Veerasammy Permaul, Roshon Primus, Shimron Hetmyer, Devendra Bishoo, Gajanand Singh, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd, Keemo Paul, Saurabh Netravalkar, Akshaya Persaud, Chris Green.

Barbados Tridents

Martin Guptill, Shakib Al Hasan, Hashim Amla, Dwayne Smith, Jason Holder(c), Nicholas Pooran, Wahab Riaz, Raymon Reifer, Ashley Nurse, Roston Chase, Shai Hope, Tion Webster, Imran Khan, Shamar Springer, Sunny Sohal, Chemar Holder, Dominic Drakes, Steven Smith, Mohammad Irfan.

St Lucia Stars

Lendl Simmons, Kieron Pollard, Darren Sammy, Rumman Raees, Andre Fletcher, Mitchell McClenaghan, Kesrick Williams, Niroshan Dickwella, Rahkeem Cornwall, Qais Ahmad, Kavem Hodge, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Dasun Shanaka, Christopher Lamont, Obed McCoy, Odean Smith, Jaskaran Malhotra, David Warner.

Jamaica Tallawahs

Andre Russell, Shahid Afridi, Imad Wasim, David Miller, Ross Taylor, Rovman Powell, Samuel Badree, Kemar Roach, Glenn Phillips, Andre McCarthy, Krishmar Santokie, Johnson Charles, Steven Taylor, Kennar Lewis, Steven Jacobs, Oshane Thomas, Kirstan Kallicharan, Elmore Hutchinson.

Trinbago Knight Riders

Dwayne Bravo, Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine, Brendon McCullum, Darren Bravo, Denesh Ramdin, Colin Munro, Shadab Khan, Khary Pierre, Ronsford Beaton, Javon Searles, Kevon Cooper, Nikita Miller, Anderson Phillip, Hamza Tariq, Amir Jangoo, Shannon Gabriel, Fawad Ahmed.

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots

Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Ben Cutting, Carlos Brathwaite, Mahmudullah, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tom Cooper, Sheldon Cottrell, Brandon King, Devon Thomas, Graeme Cremer, Fabian Allen, Shamarh Brooks, Sandeep Lamichhane, Jeremiah Louis, Alzarri Joseph, Ibrahim Khaleel, Javelle Glen.

TAGS: , , , ,


For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.