West Indies squad for two-match Test series against India announced

Posted On / /
West Indies squad for two-match Test series against India announced

The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) has announced a 15 member squad for a two-Test match series against India starting from October 4. 36-year-old Devon Smith has been left out of the side with Sunil Ambris getting a recall into the Test side after 3 years.

Smith scored two fifties in the nine innings he played on return, but in five of the other seven appearances, he could manage single-digit scores only. This means that the Windies side will field an opening combination of Kieran Powell and Kraigg Brathwaite.

Ambris, who usually bats in the lower middle-order, will look to continue his good form from the ‘A’ series where he scored a hundred against the Indian outfit.

Courtney Browne, the chairman of selectors, has congratulated the team on their recent success in the Test series against Bangladesh. “The panel congratulates Jason Holder and his team on the excellent performance against Bangladesh. As the team embarks on a tough tour of India the successes against Sri Lanka and Bangladesh should hold them in good stead during the India series,” Browne said.

“The panel welcomes back Sunil Ambris who missed the last couple of series due to injury, along with Jomel Warrican who adds a second spin bowling option to the attack.”

Jason Holder & Co. will travel to India on the back of a comprehensive 2-0 series win against Bangladesh.

Windies squad for Test series against India:

Jason Holder (c), Sunil Ambris, Devendra Bishoo, Kraigg Brathwaite, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Jahmar Hamilton, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Keemo Paul, Kieran Powell, Kemar Roach, Jomel Warrican.


CATEGORY: Featured, Jason Holder, News, Players, Teams, Test Match, West Indies

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
CricketTimes.com provides Latest Cricket News, Live Scores, Schedule, Results, ICC Rankings, Stats, and Videos. Write to us at contact@crickettimes.com.