BCCI announces 16-man squad for T20I series against Windies

Posted On / /

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced a 16-man squad for the T20I series against Windies, which begins on November 4 at the iconic Eden Gardens in Kolkata. Lucknow and Chennai are the other two venues for the series.

Rohit Sharma is set to lead the team as Virat Kohli, their regular all-format captain, has been rested.

The massive development comes in the form of MS Dhoni’s exclusion and in his absence, Rishabh Pant will don the wicketkeeping gloves.

Meanwhile, all-rounder Krunal Pandya and left-arm spinner Shahbaz Nadeem have got their maiden T20I call-ups.

Washington Sundar, who suffered from an injury during the Nidahas Trophy in Sri Lanka, is also set to make a comeback. The 20-year old Khaleel Ahmed has been duly rewarded after he performed well in the limited opportunities he has got in the 50-overs format.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav and Jasprit Bumrah are the fast bowlers along with the spin duo of Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal. The upcoming series will also be an opportunity for Shreyas Iyer and Manish Pandey to show their mettle in the shortest format.

India’s squad for T20I series against Windies:

Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Dinesh Karthik, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Khaleel Ahmed, Umesh Yadav, Shahbaz Nadeem

TAGS: , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Featured, India, News, T20, Teams

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudh@crickettimes.com or anirudhsingh2904@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.