BPL 2019: AB de Villiers signs up with Rangpur Riders

Posted On / /

Former South Africa international AB de Villiers has signed up with Rangpur Riders for the forthcoming edition of Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) scheduled to take place from January 5 to February 8 in 2019.

Riders have already attainted the services of Alex Hales as their first signing outside the draft. There is a possibility of the team having a top 3 of Chris Gayle, Hales and De Villiers.

Other big names in the Riders team are Bangladesh internationals Mushrafe Mortaza, Nazmul Islam and Mohammad Mithun.

Riders are the defending champions of BPL after winning the title last year, courtesy Gayle’s whirlwind 146 off 69 deliveries, which included a record 18 sixes. Gayle was retained by the club for the next season.

De Villiers retired from international cricket this year citing tiredness. Reports also emerged of the former South African captain making an international comeback prior to the World Cup next year but de Villiers squashed any such reports. Having already signed up for the Pakistan Super League (PSL) and the inaugural Mzansi Super League (MSL), de Villiers will have his hands full at the start of next year, with Indian Premier League (IPL) to follow PSL.

TAGS: , , , ,

CATEGORY: AB de Villiers, Featured, News, Players, South Africa, T20, Teams

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
CricketTimes.com provides Latest Cricket News, Live Scores, Schedule, Results, ICC Rankings, Stats, and Videos. Write to us at contact@crickettimes.com.