India’s 12-member squad for second Test against Windies announced

Posted On / /

The Board of Control for Cricket in India on Thursday announced an unchanged 12-member squad for the second Test against the West Indies.

The second and final match of the series will be played at the Rajiv Gandhi International stadium in Hyderabad from Friday.

India lead the Test series 1-0 after their record victory over the visitors by an innings and 272 runs in Rajkot.

Teenager Prithvi Shaw has been retained in the squad after his brilliant century on debut which also earned him the ‘Man of the match award’ in the first Test.

Meanwhile, KL Rahul, who was dismissed for a duck in the first over at Rajkot, has also been included in the side, despite India having the option to give Mayank Agarwal his Test debut cap.

The squad features three spinners – Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav and Ravindra Jadeja while fast bowlers Mohammed Shami and Umesh Yadav are also in the final 12 along with Shardul Thakur.

The final XI will be announced by captain Virat Kohli at the toss on Friday.

India’s 12-man squad:

KL Rahul, Prithvi Shaw, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Shardul Thakur.

TAGS: , , ,

CATEGORY: Featured, India, News, Teams, Test Match

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author: provides Latest Cricket News, Live Scores, Schedule, Results, ICC Rankings, Stats, and Videos. Write to us at