Pakistan announce the 12-man squad for 2nd Test against Australia

Pakistan’s limited-overs opener Fakhar Zaman is in line to make his Test debut against Australia, while Wahab Riaz has been dropped for the series decider beginning from Tuesday (October 16) in Abu Dhabi.

Fakhar, uncapped quick Mir Hamza and allrounder Shadab Khan have been picked in the 12-man Pakistan squad for the second Test at Sheikh Zayed Stadium, with Sarfraz Ahmed to confirm their final XI at the toss.

The fractured finger of Imam-ul-Haq has paved the way for Fakhar to open the batting after his incredible performances in the limited-overs format.

The left-hander recently became the fastest man to 1,000 ODI runs, breaking a record first set by Viv Richards, while he blasted a 46-ball 91 against Australia to lead Pakistan to victory in the final of Tri-nation T20I series held in Zimbabwe three months back.

Meanwhile, Wahab’s axing has come after an at-times wayward bowling effort in the first Test at Dubai Cricket Stadium, going wicketless through 27 overs.

Fellow left-armer Hamza appears the most likely man to replace Wahab given the absence of another fast bowler in the 12, though Shadab, who has recovered from a groin injury, could be considered if Sarfraz want another spinner in his side.

Here is the 12-man squad of Pakistan:

Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Azhar Ali, Haris Sohail, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Sarfraz Ahmed, Bilal Asif, Yasir Shah, Mohammad Abbas, Shadab Khan, Mir Hamza.

LOVED it? LIKE it!

This article was first published on
For latest cricket news and updates, visit or follow us on Google News.

Share it with a Cricket fan!

Rashpal is a T20 commentator at home and passionate traveler. He loves writing about cricket during his free time. You can write to him at or get in touch with him on facebook.