Stats: Shubman Gill becomes the 5th youngest player to score a century in Deodhar Trophy

Posted On / /

Teenager Shubman Gill slammed an unbeaten century to lead India C in to the final of the Deodhar Trophy as they defeated India A by six wickets at the Feroz Shah Kotla stadium in Delhi on Thursday.

Chasing 294, Gill, along with another youngster Ishan Kishan, steered the India C innings to victory from a position of 85 for 3. Ajinkya Rahane (14), Abhinav Mukund (37) and Suresh Raina (2) were the men to have fallen when Gill and Kishan came together. Kishan hit 69 off 60 balls with 11 fours while Gill remained unconquered on 106 off 111, having hit eight fours and three sixes.

With this century, Gill has become the 5th youngest player to score a century in the Deodhar Trophy history. The record is held by Suresh Raina who scored 129 while playing for Central Zone in the 2004/05 edition of the tournament. The left-handed batsman was then only 18 years and 66 days old.

Raina bagged this record going past Sourav Ganguly who was the first teenager to score a century in the Deodhar Trophy. The former Indian skipper was 18 years and 186 days old when he scored a hundred in the Deodhar final on 21st December 1990. The current Indian opener in limited overs, Rohit Sharma, was 18 years and 307 days old when he scored an unbeaten 142 for West Zone in 2006.

Baba Aparajith bettered Rohit when he scored 121 for South Zone in 2013 at the age of 18 years and 245 days.

Youngest players to score a century in Deodhar Trophy:

TAGS: , ,

CATEGORY: Featured, India, News, Players, Shubman Gill, Teams

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.