Windies opener Evin Lewis withdraws from ODI and T20I series against India

Posted On / /
Windies opener Evin Lewis withdraws from ODI and T20I series against India

Hard-hitting Windies opening batsman Evin Lewis has withdrawn from the upcoming limited-overs series against India due to personal reasons, Cricket West Indies (CWI) confirmed on Wednesday (October 17).

Kieran Powell will replace Lewis in the ODI squad while Nicholas Pooran has been named as his replacement for the T20I series.

Lewis’ withdrawal comes as a big blow for the Windies team, who already is missing the services of experienced players like Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine and Dwayne Bravo in the ongoing India tour.

Also, left-arm fast bowler Obed McCoy, who grabbed eyeballs in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) for St Lucia Stars, is yet to make a debut in ODI, but will join the squad after he was announced as Alzarri Joseph’s replacement.

Obed McCoy

The limited-overs leg between the two teams begins with an ODI in Guwahati on October 21.

Windies ODI squad:

Jason Holder (c), Fabian Allen, Sunil Ambris, Devendra Bishoo, Chanderpaul Hemraj, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Obed McCoy, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Kieran Powell, Rovman Powell, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Oshane Thomas.

Windies T20I squad:

Carlos Brathwaite (c), Fabian Allen, Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer, Obed McCoy, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Khary Pierre, Kieron Pollard, Nicholas Pooran, Rovman Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Oshane Thomas.

TAGS: , , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Evin Lewis, Featured, News, ODI, Players, Teams, West Indies

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author: provides Latest Cricket News, Live Scores, Schedule, Results, ICC Rankings, Stats, and Videos. Write to us at