Amy Satterthwaite to lead New Zealand in ICC Women’s World T20 2018

Posted On / /

A team full of excellent players, New Zealand is only behind Australia in the T20I rankings and one of the favourites to win the ICC Women’s World T20 2018.

New Zealand has been one of the top teams in the international cricket for long, but have often failed to get their hands on the big trophies – they won the ICC Women’s World Cup in 2000 at home.

The selectors have picked a spin-heavy White Ferns’ T20I line-up for the Women’s World T20 in the West Indies starting from November 9. With spin expected to play a major role on the slow pitches in the Caribbean, New Zealand picked five spin-bowling options, including their new captain Amy Satterthwaite and Anna Peterson.

The five spinners include Amelia Kerr, Leigh Kasperek, Satterthwaite, Jess Watkin and Maddy Green.

The White Ferns’ biggest strength is their opening pair of Suzie Bates and Sophie Devine. If Bates is the one that, while scoring quickly, goes on and builds long innings and bats deep, Devine is the one that truly puts the fear of God in the opposition bowlers. Also a handy medium-pacer, she scores at a strike rate of 123.91 in T20Is, the perfect foil to Bates and the ideal batter up the order.

New Zealand’s schedule:

  • New Zealand v India, Guyana (Nov 9)
  • New Zealand v Australia, Guyana (Nov 14)
  • New Zealand v Pakistan, Guyana (Nov 16)
  • New Zealand v Ireland, Guyana (Nov 18)

New Zealand women’s squad:

Amy Satterthwaite (c), Suzie Bates, Bernadine Bezuidenhout (wk), Sophie Devine, Kate Ebrahim, Maddy Green, Holly Huddleston, Hayley Jensen, Leigh Kasperek, Amelia Kerr, Katey Martin, Anna Peterson, Harriet Rowe, Lea Tahuhu, Jess Watkin

CATEGORY: Featured, New Zealand, News, Players, T20, Teams

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.