Harmanpreet Kaur to lead India in ICC Women’s World T20 2018

Posted On / /
Harmanpreet Kaur to lead India in ICC Women’s World T20 2018

India would be hoping to win their first-ever ICC Women’s World T20 title when they begin their campaign in the tournament to be held in the West Indies from November 9 to 24.

Australia has won the event thrice, while England and the Windies have lifted the crown once each. Harmanpreet Kaur will be leading the Indian squad with Smriti Mandhana as her deputy.

ODI skipper Mithali Raj will continue to be a part of the side as well.

On the other hand, youngsters Jemimah Rodrigues and Tanya Bhatia have been included in the squad as well. Both of them were in great form during the Sri Lanka tour, which saw the Indian women trounce the Sri Lankan side 4-0 in the five-match series.

India is placed in Group B along with Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan and Ireland in the 10-team event. The tournament begins with the match between India and New Zealand in Guyana on November 9.

India’s schedule:

  • India v New Zealand (Nov 9, Guyana)
  • India v Pakistan (Nov 11, Guyana)
  • India v Ireland (Nov 15, Guyana)
  • India v Australia (Nov 17, Guyana)

India women’s squad:

Harmanpreet Kaur(c), Smriti Mandhana, Mithali Raj, Jemimah Rodrigues, Veda Krishnamurthy, Deepti Sharma, Taniya Bhatia, Poonam Yadav, Radha Yadav, Anuja Patil, Ekta Bisht, Dayalan Hemalatha, Mansi Joshi, Pooja Vastrakar, Arundhati Reddy

TAGS: , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Featured, Harmanpreet Kaur, India, News, Players, Smriti Mandhana, T20, Teams

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudh@crickettimes.com or anirudhsingh2904@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.