India’s 12-member team for first T20I against the Windies announced

Posted On / /

India has announced the 12-member squad for the first T20I against the Windies to be played at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on November 4.

Rohit Sharma will lead the side in absence of Virat Kohli, and former captain MS Dhoni has already been axed from the initial 16-member squad. India has already clinched the Test and ODI series, but the Windies, who are the defending champions in the shortest format, remain a potent force.

“Dhoni has been such a massive player for us, over the years. His experience in the middle will be missed but again Rishabh (Pant) and Dinesh (Karthik) have great opportunity to come and perform and show what they are capable of as well. It gives them an opportunity to express themselves,” Rohit told media persons on the eve of the game.

The aforementioned squad could well mean that all-rounder Krunal Pandya might get to make his international debut at the Eden Gardens after he was impressive in the domestic circuit.

“These are the few names who have come and we got to see them what they have in their armoury for us to make the best possible squad in the World Cup,” Rohit added.

India’s 12 for the 1st T20I against the Windies:

Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant (wk), Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Khaleel Ahmed, Yuzvendra Chahal

TAGS: , , , ,

CATEGORY: Featured, India, Krunal Pandya, News, ODI, Players, Rohit Sharma, T20, Teams

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.