IPL 2019: List of players retained and released by Delhi Daredevils

Posted On / /
IPL 2019: List of players retained and released by Delhi Daredevils

Delhi Daredevils (DD) has made a bold move by releasing big names Gautam Gambhir, Glenn Maxwell, Mohammad Shami and Dan Christian ahead of the IPL 2019 auction to be held in mid-December later this year.

The Delhi-based franchise, who finished at the bottom of the table in IPL 2018, has however retained young guns like Shreyas Iyer, Prithvi Shaw, Rishabh Pant and experienced T20 players in Colin Munro, Chris Morris, and Trent Boult.

In the 12th IPL season, Daredevils failed to produce results under the captaincy of Gambhir, which prompted a move as he stepped down from the leadership role. Shreyas Iyer was made the new captain. Since Iyer took over their performance became better and Rishabh Pant with 684 runs in the season emerged as the leading run-getter.

Earlier, Shikhar Dhawan was traded from Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) to Daredevils in lieu of three players Vijay Shankar, Shahbaz Nadeem, and Abhishek Sharma.

Retained Players:

Shreyas Iyer (captain), Prithvi Shaw, Rishabh Pant, Manjot Kalra, Colin Munro, Chris Morris, Jayant Yadav, Rahul Tewatia, Harshal Patel, Amit Mishra, Kagiso Rabada, Trent Boult, Sandeep Lamichhane, Avesh Khan

Released players:

Glenn Maxwell, Gautam Gambhir, Mohammed Shami, Daniel Christian

Traded player:

Shikhar Dhawan

TAGS: , , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Dan Christian, Delhi Daredevils, Featured, Gautam Gambhir, Glenn Maxwell, India, IPL, Mohammed Shami, News, Players, T20, Teams

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Weekly Newsletter.

About the Author:
CricketTimes.com provides Latest Cricket News, Live Scores, Schedule, Results, ICC Rankings, Stats, and Videos. Write to us at contact@crickettimes.com.